Plasticarium

Permanent exhibition

A collection of around 2000 plastic objects (some of which have been exhibited and the rest are conserved in the reserve), from the most every day to unique items or original products to understand the twentieth and twenty-first centuries.

A meeting with objects, in particular with those that were part of our daily lives: these objects that seem so ordinary to us, so practical and at the same time without being aware of how or why they were made, and furthermore, without imagining that they would one day become icons of an era, of a way of life and thinking about life.

Of the entire collection, built since the 1980s by the Brussels collector, 500 objects are exhibited in the permanent exhibition rooms at ADAM. To show this creative landscape more accurately, there are also loans from international or private collections as well as donations.

Designed by architects as an extension of the permanent exhibition, the reserves are visible while obeying the strict conservation norms. Thus, the most curious may view the rest of the collection behind glass.

30 YEARS OF HISTORY


Everything began in 1987, when Philippe Decelle rescued a Universale, chair in plastics by the Italian designer Joe Colombo, from a dustbin. This led him to reflect on our society’s short memory, as yesterday’s iconic item becomes tomorrow’s rubbish. It prompted him to launch his Plasticarium collection in the heart of Brussels.

With these feeling, Philippe Decelle, went in search of anything made from plastic: everyday utensils, designer furniture, fashion creations, or even works of art. He thus ended up collecting more than 2000 plastic pieces dating from the end of the 1950s to the beginning of the 21st century, which were kept for years in Brussels city centre.

The collection, which takes the name of Plasticarium, includes items from every aspect of daily life but also original work by masters of design such asJoe Colombo, Verner Panton and Eero Aarnio, whereas fans of contemporary creations will see works by Philippe Starck, Charles Kaisin and several others, both known and unknown.

Long coveted by London, New York and Paris, the collection was finally acquired by ADAM in 2014 with a view, on the one hand, to build its permanent collection and, on the other hand, to preserve and enhance this unique collection through a scientific and cultural project.

15 essentials

UNIVERSALE

JOE COLOMBO

iMAC

JONATHAN IVE

DONDOLO

CESARE LEONARDI & FRANCA STAGI

AEROSPACE COLLECTION

QUASAR KHANH

LE PEINTRE

EVELYNE AXELL

COMPONIBILI

ANNA CASTELLI FERRIERI

HOMME

RUTH FRANCKEN

MISS BLANCHE

SHIRO KURAMATA

CAPITELLO

STUDIO 65

MYTO

KONSTANTIN GRCIC

PORTAVIA P111

ROGER TALLON

PANTON CHAIR

VERNER PANTON

LA MARIE

PHILIPPE STARCK

PRATT

GAETANO PESCE

VALENTINE

ETTORE SOTTSASS

THE RESERVES


Designed by the architects as an extension of the permanent exhibition, the area housing the museum’s reserve collection can be seen by the visitors. However, the visibility of these spaces behind the scenes does not obstruct their main function as a place of conservation and research, principles on which every museum is founded. With this objective in mind, the items are arranged according to type of materials (PVC, ABS, PC, etc.) . The lighting is deliberately subdued, except in cases of specific activity, in order to limit any deterioration associated with exposure to light. The temperature and humidity level are likewise controlled, as plastic, like other materials, is affected by climatic variations.

 

Contact | Place de Belgique - Belgiëplein - 1020 Brussels | T +32 2 669 49 29 | Every day (365/365) from 10am to 6pm
Made by Antartica

Plasticarium

Exposition permanente

 

Une collection composée d’environ 2000 objets en plastique (dont une partie est exposée et le reste conservé dans les réserves), du plus quotidien à la pièce unique ou édition originale pour comprendre le XXe XXIe siècles.

Une rencontre avec les objets, en particulier avec ceux qui firent partie de notre quotidien : ces objets qui nous semblaient si ordinaires, si pratiques à la fois sans que l’on ait conscience du comment-du-pourquoi ils furent réalisés, et plus encore, sans imaginer qu’un jour ils deviendraient les icônes d’une époque, d’une façon de vivre et de penser la vie.

Sur l’ensemble de cette collection, constituée depuis les années 1980 par le collectionneur bruxellois Philippe Decelle, 500 objets sont montrés dans les salles d’exposition permanente du ADAM. Pour dessiner plus fidèlement ce paysage créatif, des prêts provenant de collections publiques internationales ou privées, ainsi que des donations.

Conçues par les architectes comme une prolongation de l’exposition permanente, les réserves sont visibles tout en obéissant à des normes strictes de conservations. Ainsi, les plus curieux peuvent observer le reste de la collection derrière des baies vitrées.

30 ANS D'HISTOIRE(S).


Tout commence en 1987 lorsque Philippe Decelle ramasse une Universale chaise en plastique du designer italien Joe Colombo (1930-1971), sur les poubelles d’une des communes du sud de Bruxelles Il songe alors que notre société a la mémoire courte et qu’elle brûle aujourd’hui ce qu’elle a adoré hier.

Au fil des années, Philippe Decelle continue d’accumuler plusieurs centaines de pièces en plastique [de l’objet du quotidien à l’œuvre d’art] des Golden Sixties à nos jours.

La collection - qui prend le nom de Plasticarium - compte les éditions originales de grandes figures du design, comme Joe Colombo, Verner Panton, Eero Aarnio, mais aussi plus contemporaines tels Philippe Starck, Charles Kaisin et bien d’autres designers, connus ou non. 

l’ensemble est finalement acquis en 2014 par le ADAM en vue d’en constituer sa collection permanente.

UNIVERSALE

JOE COLOMBO

iMAC

JONATHAN IVE

DONDOLO

CESARE LEONARDI & FRANCA STAGI

AEROSPACE COLLECTION

QUASAR KHANH

LE PEINTRE

EVELYNE AXELL

COMPONIBILI

ANNA CASTELLI FERRIERI

HOMME

RUTH FRANCKEN

MISS BLANCHE

SHIRO KURAMATA

CAPITELLO

STUDIO 65

MYTO

KONSTANTIN GRCIC

PORTAVIA P111

ROGER TALLON

PANTON CHAIR

VERNER PANTON

LA MARIE

PHILIPPE STARCK

PRATT

GAETANO PESCE

VALENTINE

ETTORE SOTTSASS

LES RESERVES


Conçues par les architectes comme une prolongation de l’exposition permanente, les réserves sont dévoilées aux yeux du public. Cette visibilité des coulisses ne se fait cependant pas au détriment de leur fonction première, à savoir un lieu de conservation et de recherche, fondement de tout musée. Poursuivant cet objectif, le rangement des pièces s’est fait en fonction de la typologie des matériaux (PVC, ABS, PC, etc.). Quant à l’éclairage, il est volontairement tamisé en dehors de toute activité afin de limiter les dégradations liées à la lumière. La température et l’humidité sont également contrôlées. En effet, les plastiques, au même titre que les autres matériaux, sont sensibles aux variations climatiques.

Place de Belgique - 1020 Bruxelles | T +32 2 669 49 29 | Tous les jours (365/365) de 10h à 18h
Made by Antartica

Centre de préférences de confidentialité

test